Pfizer Colloquium Series & Films for the Archive of ASA

The Pfizer Colloquium began in 1978 at University of Connecticut-Storrs under the leadership of the Late Professor Harry O. Posten (University of Connecticut-Storrs) and Dr. David S. Salsburg (Pfizer Global Research and Development-Groton, Connecticut). In view of the historical importance of this project, this joint initiative has been continually supported by funding from Pfizer Global Research and Development-Groton, Connecticut, the Department of Statistics at the University of Connecticut-Storrs, and the American Statistical Association (ASA). After Professor Posten’s death in March 2002 and Dr. Salsburg’s retirement from Pfizer, Professor Nitis Mukhopadhyay of the University of Connecticut-Storrs and Dr. Naitee Ting (then with Pfizer) served as program leaders for the respective organizations. After Dr. Ting moved to Boehringer-Ingelheim, Dr. William T. Duggan of Pfizer took over the role of Dr. Ting in August 2009.

Along with this featured guest of honor, two other distinguished statisticians are also normally invited. The featured guest of honor delivers a special lecture under the auspices of “Pfizer Colloquia by Distinguished Statisticians in Honor of Dr. David S. Salsburg”. Then, a “conversation” with the featured guest of honor and the other two distinguished statisticians is arranged under the auspices of “Conversations with Distinguished Statisticians in Memory of Professor Harry O. Posten”.

This list was provided by the Department of Statistics, University of Connecticut.




2021 Peter Bickel University of California, Berkeley
2020 Nan Laird Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
2018 Grace Wahba University of Wisconsin–Madison
2012 Pranab K. Sen University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
2009 Stephen E. Fienberg Carnegie Mellon University
2007 Barbara Bailar Statistical Consultant
2006 Emanuel Parzen Texas A & M University
2005 Chris Heyde University of California, Berkeley
2004 David R. Brillinger University of California, Berkeley
2001 Brad Efron Stanford University
2000 Janet Norwood The Urban Institute
1998 Donald Fraser University of Toronto
1998 Robert Hogg University of Iowa
1997 Marvin Zelen Harvard University
1997 Ingram Olkin Stanford University
1995 Theodore W. Anderson Stanford University
1994 David R Cox Institute of Mathematical Statistics
1992 Erich Lehmann Institute of Mathematical Statistics
1991 Oscar Kempthorne Iowa State University
1990 Herbert Robbins Institute of Mathematical Statistics
1989 Herman Chernoff Institute of Mathematical Statistics
1987 John Tukey and Fred Mosteller UC Berkely and Harvard
1987 Fred Mosteller Harvard University
1985 Morris H, Hansen Westat, Inc.
1983 Gottfried Noether University of Connecticut
1983 R. C. Bose Colorado State University
1982 George Box Princeton University
1981 C.R. Rao University of Pittsburgh and Indian Statistical Institute
1981 W. Edwards Deming New York University
1981 E. J. G. Pitman University of Tasmania
1980 Harald Cramér University of Stockholm
1979 Jerzy Neyman University of California, Berkeley